What’s in the Box? #64

boxquestionintrowhite

Today was a big day!  Today, Harper and I dropped off all the paperwork for her preschool.  Which means her first day will be Friday.  I can’t believe my little girl is going to start school already!  Where did the time go?

I actually hadn’t planned on Harper starting school until the fall.  When looking into preschool options after Harper was born, I learned about some co-op preschools in town and loved the concept of being able to work at the school one day a week.  However, those programs start when they are 2 years, 9 months.  Which, to be honest, sounded perfect to me.  But Harper had other plans.

Ever since her first experience with daycare at church, Harper asks if she can go to “church tomorrow” everyday.  Through a mommy friend of mine, I learned that the church offers a preschool as well.  So we went ahead and looked into it and were very happy with the program.  After two weeks of working on the large packet of paperwork, we finally turned it in today.  Which means, it’s official.  My baby is going to school.

So in the spirit of celebrating this important milestone, let’s get wild and crazy with another weekly produce party :)

Last week we had 6 link ups!  And from the looks of it, everyone is ready for St.Patty’s day.  Greens all around.  There was Green Eggs No Ham, Kale Pesto, and a delicious Broccoli and Cheese Pizza.  My Irish roots have me doing a little jig over these delightful dishes.  Thanks ladies for sharing your festive eats :)

Now let’s take a look at what I will be working with this week…

IMG_4904

After 2 years of participating in my CSA, it is rare that I receive a veggie that I have never tried before.  So this box will go down in history for my introduction to Romanesco broccoli.  Thanks to this party, I have seen other folks get it in their box before, but I have never had the pleasure of trying it for myself.  I can’t wait to start looking up recipes.

I am also excited to see another 2 lbs worth of red garnet sweet potatoes.  I was immediately inspired to whip up another batch of this Sweet Potato Turkey Shepherd’s Pie.  We have company coming over for dinner on Friday and this will be the perfect meal :)  I plan on serving it with a side salad using that gorgeous head of red leaf lettuce.

Apparently I am on a comfort food kick because those turnips make me want to spend my weekend cooking up this Beer-Braised Beef with Onion, Carrot, and Turnips dish.  It is DIVINE!  I would love to make this for my company except for it takes hours to cook, and on a Friday night after a day of music classes and toddler fun, I just don’t have the time.  So I like to save these recipes for the weekend, when I can start preparing it early enough that dinner can be served at a decent hour.

Speaking of the weekend, I love to juice on the weekends.  And those grapefruits, apples and beautiful bunch of kale would make a killer combo.  I might even have a few carrots left over from last week to throw into the mix too :)

I have been on a Greek yogurt kick lately (maybe because they were on sale at Ralphs and I bought a boatload).  And I love the addition of fresh berries sliced on top.  It is a delicious daytime snack or after dinner treat.

Finally, I will be making this Apricot Pork Chops recipe and serving the sugar snap peas on the side.  I like to give them a quick boil and then toss them in butter, lemon zest and garlic.  Yum!

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS: Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!  You only have until March 11th to get your entries in.  Remember to leave a comment on the original post letting me know that you have completed the tasks.  Your comments act as your entry into the giveaway.  Good luck!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #64

  1. good morning lovelies!

    Wow! Your broccoli looks intense – jealous! I miss my CSA so much. Come the Spring – now that we’re moved and settled a bit – signing back up.

    …i’m sharing my recipe for caramelized apple cinnamon pot de creme – and my crazy decision to quit my job. ack! fingers crossed!!

    Also, the wednesday fresh foods link up – is live now. i’d love it if you all stopped by.

    thank you for hosting us!

  2. Heather,
    Oh, how bittersweet a time it is when your baby starts regular awake time away from you!
    One the one hand, it’s a developmental step away, on the other hand, FREEDOM!

    I remain insanely jealous of your fresh foods in March, but I’m linking up a recipe made up of CSA goodies I put up during the season–Zucchini Refried Bean Corn enchiladas–to remind me of humid summer days when I couldn’t put stuff up fast enough.

    I’m also sharing a panade, because I missed when panades took the food blogs by storm (and I adore how the spellchecker turns it into panda!) which I made before the last of my Swiss chard disappeared under snow.

    Lastly, to help you get your Irish on, a Tremendously Green pizza. Cabbage, leeks, potatoes, bacon, caramelized onions all on a spinach crust? What’s not to love?

    Thanks for hosting!

    • inherchucks says:

      Those enchiladas sound insane! can’t wait to give them a try.

      And I love collecting yummy recipes for swiss chard. Looking forward to checking out the post.

      Sounds like you are all ready for st. patty’s day with all that green.

      Thanks for sharing and linking up :)

  3. Fresh Ginger says:

    Mmmmm… apricot pork chops and snap peas sound good. I’ll be right over! Congrats on preschool. My little dude loves his preschool and I’m always impressed with the new things he learns or the friends that he makes. :)

  4. Kash says:

    Harper’s going to school! Wow – how did the time go by so fast?

  5. […] I bid you a final adieu, make sure to head on over to Gastronomical Sovereignty and In Her Chucks to see what other people did with their mighty fine and beautiful veggies. I’m not the only […]

  6. […] linking up with In Her Chucks. Check out the other veggie boxes people got this […]

  7. I’m seriously excited about that broccoli. I can’t wait to see what you do with it. And those snap peas…yum. I’d like to just snack on those.

    • inherchucks says:

      You know Meghan, I never used to snack on the snap peas. I have so many yummy recipes that include them, I couldn’t imagine “just snacking” on them. But the other day, I have them to Harper for her lunch and grabbed a few off her plate and now I LOVE to snack on them too :) They stay true to their name…they are sweet and they snap with each bite. Yum!

  8. sk says:

    Hey Lady! I shared three recipes: Rosemary Sandwich Bread, Purple Carrot Cupcakes and Sweet Potato Hummus. Thanks for hosting!

    So so jealous of your romanesco broccoli!! We learned about it and it’s very clear demonstration of the Fibonacci sequence in math class, but I’ve never seen it in person!

  9. […] it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her […]

  10. […] it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her […]

  11. […] it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her […]

  12. Preschool! Wow! Time flies by, doesn’t it? Here’s to Harper’s first day of school!

    And can’t wait to see what you do with that Romanesco broccoli!

Leave a Reply

