27 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #66

  1. Heather,
    I’m curious what you’re going to do with the grapefruit. My folks are visiting and my 82 yr old mom brought grapefruits and had me photograph her lovely hands making candied grapefruit peel while she told me the story of how she first tried it. It involves me then-3 year old brother eating 3 whole grapefruits at one sitting to get the empty halves necessary for the recipe. My kids had some, but I scooped out another so I’ve got grapefruit flesh I’m thinking of making muffins with–but I’m open to persuasion.

    I’m chomping at the bit for Spring, though we had flurries here yesterday it didn’t deter my 84 yr old dad from digging in my raised bed and planting peas, arugula, and spinach. In the meantime, I’m using tomatoes I put up in the fall to make Foodie With Family’s Slow Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala (mine had added chick peas to stretch the meat). I’m staying healthy this early spring by making muffins sweetened with molasses and dates (and no refined sugar). And I’m enjoying another meatless Friday Night Pizza with a Mushroom Medley and Caramelized Onion pie.

    Thanks for hosting!

    • annierie says:

      Kirsten, I got grapefruit, too, this week. I have been using mine in a salad. I make a fennel orange salad that I put these lovely sweet grapefruit in. Adds some more color with the pink grapefruit.

      Supreme the grapefruit and orange. save the peels to use to squeeze to make the dressing, as I always have lots of flesh left when I run the knife down the sides to peel. Also use that middle pithy section to make the vinaigrette.

      Julienne red onion and fennel. Combine with the citrus. Make a vinaigrette from juice, olive oil, salt and pepper.

      Amazing salad!

    • inherchucks says:

      All sounds delish!

      The recipes I have for the grapefruit sweets only use the juice. If you want to use the meat throw them in a salad or try my grapefruit sole recipe. Most baked goods omit the meat and go straight for the juice or zest. But muffins sound awesome!

      Thanks for sharing and linking up :)

  2. Melissa says:

    I miss my CSA! I can’t wait for it to start again. I’ve been lucky though; our winter farmer’s market has had some good stuff – all kinds of greens, beets, potatos, and of course, winter squash! The butternut squash from the farmer’s market a couple weeks ago made it into a yummy pasta dish, and I used the last of my garlic scape pesto from last season on a pizza with asparagus (I love it too). I can’t wait to see the desserts that come from this basket!

  3. […] post is linked to What’s in the Box?  at In Her […]

  4. […] post is linked to What’s in the Box? at In Her […]

  5. Tulips are my favorite too…and my little one always gets me to buy a bouquet this time of year when we’re shopping at Whole Foods. :-) Great CSA box…enjoy!

  6. saltedplates says:

    Sadly we are on break from our CSA until April :( but I am still cooking with items from last weeks so I will try to link those up. Your box looks amazing, I am trying to hold out for local aspargus but I don’t know that I can wait much longer.

    • inherchucks says:

      I totally understand. I have been known to cave and pick up some store bought produce because I simply couldn’t control the cravings. Could be worse though…right?

  7. Oh tulips, my favorite flowers!! That whole box has my stomach growling right now! Strawberries were on some crazy sale last Saturday and I bought a ton of them, they were delicious and sadly, almost gone :(

  8. Becky says:

    I love tulips too! That box looks delicious – looking forward to seeing all those yummy dessert ideas! :-)

  9. I am jealous of your strawberries :) We just got our info for this summer’s CSA – and with all the snow we are *still* getting, I think it’s going to be quite a crop this year. Can’t wait!

  10. […] to get pictures and post them on a future post. Hubby even like them (hidden carrots!!). Thanks to In Her Chucks for suggesting carrot cake (I’ll probably be making some regular cake/cupcakes soon too). Do […]

  11. adelewayah says:

    Strawberries and asparagus in the same box?! That would totally make my day too! Two of my all time favorites!

  12. Melissa says:

    Super jealous of your box, I have to wait until May for the next CSA box…….
    ;) Enjoy all those yummy delicious colours!

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Melissa! As far away as it seems, at least Spring has sprung which means May will be here before you know it :) (although not quick enough for you I am sure…)

  13. I’m not sure which is prettier, your box or those tulips. I’m excited for your asparagus. I roast mine the same way but throw in some chopped garlic. Yum. Can’t wait to see the strawberry cake.

  14. saltedplates says:

    I’ve added my pizza link made from stashed CSA sauce and last weeks IQF Broccoli. Can’t wait for ours to resume after the holiday.

Leave a Reply

