What’s in the Box? #67

What's in the Box? We are busy getting ready for Easter around here, which includes dying batches of hardboiled eggs.  This year, I thought it would be fun to include Harper and her buddy Robin in this process.  However, our egg dying quickly turned into a color mixing experiment.

Dying Easter Eggs

Thank God I had the wisdom to set everything up outside.  I can’t imagine what my kitchen table would look like!  But that’s what hanging with toddlers is all about.  Lots of laughing, lots of learning and lots of messes.

In addition to hardboiled eggs, a proper spread will be in order for Sunday’s brunch as well.  So let’s take a look at last week’s party for some inspiration, shall we?

Last week we had 10 link ups.  And let’s hope none of you are currently on the Paleo diet because last week it was all about the carbs.  There was a nice variety of fresh pizza ideas including Asparagus with Prosciutto, Broccoli and Cheddar, and Mushroom with Caramelized Onions and Gorgonzola.  Yum!  But the fun didn’t stop there.  Lettuce Never Squash Our Love linked up a Pasta with Spinach and Butternut Squash.  Divine!  Yeah, it was a good week :)  Thank you to everyone who participated.  Your delicious and nutritious dishes never cease to amaze me.

Moving on to my farm fresh goodies for this week…

What's in the Box? #67

As I mentioned yesterday, in my sleepy slurred speech, I got my box on Tuesday this week.  They had to do a bit of rearranging with the routes which bumped my delivery up a day.  Yeah me!  Only time will tell if I will be able to change my blogging routine up a day earlier.  Stay tuned for that.

Upon opening my box, I immediately began to devour each and every item with my eyes.  For starters, the fennel, garlic, onion and orange were thrown into some Braised Pork with Orange and Fennel for dinner yesterday.  I had pretty much everything I needed except for the meat which made my trip to the grocery store quick and easy (and cheap too!).

After the success of the strawberry cake I bragged about last week (recipe coming soon…promise), I might have to go for round two.  We have plans to go to a few Easter gatherings this weekend and it is sure to be a real crowd pleaser.

I never got around to making any of my carrot sweets (these or these) last week because I was too busy stuffing my face with How I Ate My Box’s Chicken, Carrot and Leek Stew.  When I tell you this is the most amazing dish I have had in a long time…I am in no way exaggerating.  My whole family gobbled it up.  And then went back for seconds.  So you can be sure I will be making this again this week.  The hubby (who continued to ask me why I had never made this for him before) will be VERY pleased :)  And it will be even better served with a green salad on the side jazzed up with some of those lovely apples.

For the sage I am thinking about making my dad’s famous chicken.  I am pretty sure I owe you a recipe on this one I just never seem to be able to snap a pic before everyone digs in.  It’s just soooooo good :)  I will do my best to get it done this time around.

And finally for the arugula, I am thinking about some Grilled Steak Soft Tacos.  It has been a while since I have made this and after reminding myself of how good it looks simply from the picture, I can’t wait until dinner tomorrow night :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #67

  1. Heather,
    Boy you did go to bed early–I was still up when the comments from last week’s links popped up in my email! More likely I was up way later than I should be, and there will only be more of that in the coming months. We could have midnight (my time) Twitter parties if I were on Twitter. Right. Your box–oh that lettuce looks so inviting to me (2 sugar pie pumpkins and a butternut squash are all that’s left of last year’s CSA share that’s not in a freezer or a canning jar). I’m going to make some larb gai as soon as I get my mitts on some lettuce, but I promise not to come and steal yours.
    The fennel–ooh! I’ve been reading Marlene at Nosh My Way’s adventures roasting fennel and I can’t wait for my fennel to sprout in the garden, grow, and let me harvest so I can roast some. I need all the snow to melt off the raised bed, first, I suppose.
    I love your purple carrot–I’ve been seeing Marla of Family Fresh Cooking playing with all sorts of sweet and savory roasted colorful carrots and I wonder if we’ll get some in my farm share this season.
    I’ve linked up an Easter recipe round up, two ideas for leftover Easter ham (ham and broccoli stem quesadillas–without cabbage white caterpillars!–and ham and bean soup–seasoned, without salt, by my daughter) and a salmon, goat cheese, and arugula pesto pizza.
    Thanks for hosting! I hope you wake up fresh and bunny-tailed!

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Kirsten! I always appreciate all your yummy goodies. Toddlerhood is kicking my butt! And now, my little one hasn’t been napping which means I don’t get my mid day pick me up. So I haven’t had the stamina. But after another early night last night I am back to my old antics…2am bedtime…naughty girl :)

  2. saltedplates says:

    I am so jealous of your berries! They will be perfect for so many things, I am thinking salad and maybe a dessert if you can stand to not eat them all by hand immediately. I was loving fennel last fall lightly roasted as well as in salads.

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks for all the delicious suggestions. I LOVE strawberries in salad. I actually served that at my daughter’s 2nd birthday party last month and it was a hug hit!

  3. Lauren says:

    Strawberries!! We’ve just started getting them here, too. They’re so fresh right now that the best thing is to just enjoy them whole, and whatever you can’t eat in a couple of days, make smoothies or popsicles. Yum!

  4. […] out the other blogs at In Her Chucks link […]

  5. sk says:

    Hooray! I’m so glad the chicken was a hit! And just like everyone else, I am sooo jealous of your strawberries. AND the fennel!

  6. I can only look longingly at your box. I went to the farmer’s market today, but sadly the farmers didn’t show. They must have taken the holiday weekend off, so yep, still looking longingly at your beautiful box. Sigh.

  7. Melissa says:

    Good call on dying the eggs outside! Everything in that box looks amazing, but especially the strawberries and carrots. I got some great greens at the farmer’s market – spinach, swiss chard and kale – so I may have a recipe to link up in a couple days!

Leave a Reply

