What’s in the Box? #68

What's in the Box?

 

So, let’s jump straight to the chase…how was your Easter?  Was the weather nice?  Was the food good?  Was there an adorable little toddler dressed up on the patio, posing for pictures in her fancy dancy Easter dress?

 

Harper Easter 2013

Well, if you couldn’t tell by the pic, our Easter was lovely!  It started out with huge breakfast complete with a fluffy Hootenanny and homemade sausage, then a lovely trip to church, and finished off the day with a delicious Easter feast with great company.  It was potluck style and I was in charge of dessert (and veggies of course!).  So I brought a Fresh Strawberry Yogurt Cake and 2 batches of Lime Squares with Pistachio and Graham-Cracker Crust (with a side of roasted asparagus and steamed broccoli…eaten with the meal, not the dessert).  Needless to say, we all left with our stomach’s happy and full :)

And from the looks of it, I wasn’t the only one eating well this past weekend.  Last week we had 15 link ups and after reading all their delicious recipes, I think Easter deserves another round.  There was Caramelized Onion Duck Fat Baked Poutine, Pasta with Shrimp and Mint Pesto and Butternut Mole Sauce.  And if that’s not enough for you, Kirsty from Farm Fresh Feasts hooked us up with an Easter 2013 Recipe Round Up.  Next year can’t come soon enough :)  Thanks ladies for all of your delicious dishes.  I appreciate you sharing your farm fresh goodies with the rest of us.

Now let’s check out my first haul of April… 

 

What's in the Box? #68

Holy greens!  They come in all shapes and sizes.  Balls, stalks, leaves and bouquets!  I love greens :)  And I am digging into the Brussels first.  I always do.  They are just too good.  And I am excited to serve them alongside a new recipe that I found for those strawberries.  Even after 2 Fresh Strawberry Yogurt Cakes, daily snacking and some naughty late night indulgences, I still have strawberries coming out of my ears!  And I hate to see them go to waste so I am doing my very best to scarf down all these berries on my own (the hubs isn’t a fan and little miss Harper can only eat so many with her tiny little frame).  Hoping to share the recipe with you soon.

Speaking of Harper and her tiny frame, she has practically barreled through the broccoli on her own.  I steamed it up last night and she barely left any for the grown ups.  I LOVE how much she LOVES broccoli :)  I just wish she would share a little…

I know it’s hard to see from the pic, but that celery, is HUGE!  It barely fit in the box.  And it is perfectly crisp and fragrant.  Not quite sure what I have in store for it except for using it for the usual base of a yummy homemade sauce or soup and an easy snacking option (along with those tangerines…which are almost gone!).

These Turkey Ricotta Meatballs always seem to be my go-to recipe for spinach, but it’s such a hit I can’t resist.  And it has been a while since we made it.  Of course, the meal wouldn’t be complete without a side salad and that beautiful head of romaine lettuce will be perfect!  Might even throw in a stalk of that celery for some extra crunch.

I am determined to make some grapefruit cookies this week.  In fact, Harper promised to help me.  So we plan to get busy (and messy) in the kitchen tomorrow and make it happen.  Recipe coming soon.

Finally, I recently shared this Swiss Chard Smoothie recipe with My Yummy Local Life and it made me want to make one for myself.  Sounds like a great way to jump-start the morning :)

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #68

  1. Heather,
    At the risk of channeling my mother, SAVE YOUR GRAPEFRUIT PEELS!

    Sorry, it just sometimes slips out. My mom was here last month, and she made (and I photographed and wrote up) candied grapefruit peel. Then yesterday I made grapefruit honey bran muffins and put in bits of that grapefruit peel. Pretty Tasty. If you’re interested let me know and I’ll send you the info, but I’m not planning on posting until probably November. I wish November had about 45 days, because there are a lot of things I’d like to post that month.

    Back to your haul–heavens how lucky you are to be drowning in strawberries! I think we’re going to try a version of your strawberry yogurt cake, but with frozen raspberries and a chocolate ganache instead of the lemon glaze, for my daughter’s birthday. She still needs to decide, and she’s channeling her impending teen-dom and not deciding yet. Good thing I’ve got a well-stocked pantry.

    If you’ve got outdoor space and want to try a fun project with Harper, stick the end of that massive celery in a shallow bowl (or canning jar, if it will fit) in a bit of water and watch it re-grow. I’ve got 7 celery plants (each in their own jar now) on my kitchen windowsill just waiting for the temperatures to climb.

    I’m linking up a post months in the making–my favorite grilled cheese sandwich. I didn’t know until after I read it at Gourmet Veggie Mama, but April is National Grilled Cheese month. This sandwich is stuffed with my CSA carrots, radishes, turnips, and lettuce and is just delicious.

    I’m also linking up the prettiest photo I think I’ve ever taken, Taco Farro, and thank you yet again for sharing with me about PicMonkey to make the collage of each way my family likes to fix up their Taco Farro plate.

    Lastly, since I just put the last of the Easter Ham in the freezer, I’ve got a Leftover Ham and Leftover Sweet Potato pizza made with a (leftover, in fact) Butternut Squash crust.

    Thanks, Heather!

  2. hi lovely!!

    A of all: thank you so much for mentioning my duck fat poutine!! i am honored that you took the time to include me – and my ever expanding ass. because believe me, if you eat that dish very often, your ass will become giant. but it was real food, and seasonal food and locally sourced :) nothin’ wrong with a good food treat!

    b of all: LOOK at your BRUSSELS!! fresh brussel sprouts really ARE a treat!! i blacken mine in the oven with a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper. Just turn the oven to 450 to 475 degrees F, toss the little cabbages in the above mentioned flavorings, and roast in the oven for 20 – 30 minutes, shaking every 5 min or so to ensure even blackening. divine!

    c of all: use some of that citrus in an old fashioned! http://two-taste-buds.blogspot.ca/2012/06/rpi-bourbon-with-side-of-bourbon.html

    d of all: this week i’ve linked up a post where i explicate how smoking is good for you – smoking fish, of course. A smoked trout and granny smith apple seasonal Spring salad.

    Thank you for hosting us! And I extend an invitation to you and your readers to link up at the Wednesday Fresh Foods Link Up while it’s still open – talk soon! xo!

  3. Melissa says:

    That is one beautiful box. I’m so envious of the fruit – strawberries and tangerines and grapefruits, oh my! Our Easter meal this year was brunch, complete with homemade cinnamon buns (which were amazing!). I’m linking a quiche I made with caramelized onions and spinach from the farmer’s market – I’m still waiting anxiously for my CSA to start up again!

  4. saltedplates says:

    Getting our box on Saturday can’t wait to see what is in it. Looks like you got some great stuff :)

  5. Wondering what everyone is doing with all the asparagus!

  6. naimavanswol says:

    Wow. Your first CSA looks awesome. Here in PA it’s all still sort of wintery veggies. I just got some greens and and a bag full of herbs! I’m excited for spring. PS your daughter is ADORBS. but, I bet you already knew that. :)

  7. […] As always, go check out all the other CSA yummies at In Her Chucks. […]

  8. Harper is adorable and your box never disappoints. I made Luv What You Do’s strawberry banana read a couple of weeks ago, and it was fabulous. I highly recommend it for your abundance of strawberries. Im also extremely jealous of your abundance of strawberries. I’ve been buying them, but they’ve been shipped halfway across the country, and they are just not the same.

  9. I just got a produce box too, and love it!! Yours looks amazing :) strawberry season is the best

    • inherchucks says:

      Awesome! You should link up to our weekly party. I have been terrible about visiting your blog lately. Not much time to read with an active toddler running around.

      Hope all is well!

  10. Tammy says:

    Harper is so cute! Now where do you live that both grapefruit and brussel sprouts would be in season? Amazing. We’ve been juicing grapefruit and making delicious grapefruit kefir.

  11. sk says:

    Ahh! Harper looks so sweet in her little Easter dress! So glad you guys had a nice holiday! Although its been warm this week, our Easter was pretty cold in Pa. It even snowed a lil! So thankful that spring is finally here! I linked up a chocolate beet cake and a sweet potato mushroom stuffing. :)

Leave a Reply

