What’s in the Box? #70

What's in the Box? Love is definitely in the air.  As I mentioned last week, my brother got married this weekend and it was nothing short of incredible.

#kandqgetmarriedWhat a special day for our family.  I couldn’t be happier for Quincy and Koko and wish them a lifetime of happiness.

And apparently Harper decided to get started on her husband search ASAP because look who we found snuggled up in the bed during our play date Monday afternoon?

Harper and Robin

Too adorable.  Nothing makes me happier than seeing my little girl smile.  Although I have to admit, fresh fruits and veggies are definitely a close second :)  So let’s jump in to the party, shall we?

Last week we had 14 link ups.  And thanks to My Yummy Local Life and Views From Here, I am inspired to add my CSA goodies to my breakfast.  I mean, let’s be honest, who doesn’t want to enjoy a plate full of Carrot Cake Waffles and Egg White Puffs to start your day off on the right foot.  Makes me want to hurry to bed so I can enjoy a breakfast of champions in the morning :)  Thanks to everyone who linked up and shared their fruits and veggies with the rest of the group.

Now on to my fruits and veggies for the week…

What's in the Box? #70 - In Her Chucks

Mustard greens…hmmm.  I am sure I got these before, but I can’t for the life of me remember what I did with them.  Knowing me, I am sure I sautéed them and will probably do the same this time around.  Might even have to throw in some green onions and chives.

But I will have to make sure to save some green onions and chives for those potatoes.  Because there is nothing more delicious than a loaded baked potato.  I love to smother mine in butter, sour cream, cheese and bacon.  Sinful, but good.  And because a loaded baked potato doesn’t quite qualify for a meal on its own, I will add in a side salad topped with grapefruit and avocado, and maybe some shredded chicken for an extra dose of protein.  Uh…I’m totally hungry right about now.

So while I type this I will curb my hunger with a few of those tangerines.  Because they are oh so juicy and oh so sweet.  And while I am at it, why not grab a few of those strawberries too.  Heavenly.

And finally, the artichokes.  Those adorable little artichokes.  I remember making Lauren’s Grilled Artichokes last year and boy are they delicious!  In fact, they are so good, I will probably eat these all myself.  Because like I mentioned earlier, I am hungry and apparently stingy too (my husband can confirm that).

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #70

  1. adelewayah says:

    Thanks for the shout out. Hope you like the waffles! I’m jealous of your artichokes. I would totally grill those up and then eat them all without sharing!!

  2. Heather,
    Your lovely produce is making it hard for me to eke out these last few weeks before my CSA farm share resumes. Good thing I have other things to distract me this time. Like feeding my spouse lots of eggs before he leaves. I’m sharing a Veggie-Pumped Picadillo (I put carrots, celery, chard stems, onion, pepper, and zucchini in this from my garden or the farm share) that I made after one of his returns when I discovered I like olives.
    I’m also sharing cookies, because this week we could all use a cookie, made with my stash of dried Michigan cherries I picked up while visiting the in-laws.
    Finally, a pizza: this one uses home-canned salsa verde (finally figured out how to enjoy the tomatillos from the farm share) topped with leftover pork steak and the perfect cheese–Oaxaca–marked down at the fancy cheese counter. Doesn’t get any better than that!

    Thank you for hosting and sharing a peek at your week!

  3. Melissa says:

    Congratulations to your brother and his wife! What a lovely picture.

    Everything in your CSA box looks wonderful, but I’m super jealous of the artichokes! My boyfriend and I had been together more than 10 years before I learned that he makes fantastic steamed artichokes with a spicy dip. Now I’m thinking it’s time for him to make that again!

    I’m linking a fried cabbage recipe (made with farmer’s market apples and frozen cabbage from my CSA) that I used as a topping for hot dogs on a sunny Saturday.

  4. […] post is linked to What’s In the Box?  at In Her […]

  5. ooooh! the artichokes!!! I’ve only actually ever cooked them once – and they prickled the heck outta my fingers – be careful :)

    thanks for hosting us (as per usual)! – this week i’ve linked up my (politically incorrect?) quinoa egg dish. delish, nutrish, and possibly a terrible idea.

    i hope to see you and your readers at the Wednesday fresh foods link up this week – she’s live!

    thanks again!! xo!

    kristy

  6. LOVE you! and being part of your family, what a fun day/weekend!

  7. […] always, you can check out some more CSA boxes at In Her Chucks’ link […]

  8. Those beautiful artichokes. My goodness, I’m so jealous of your box, although I finally managed to score some goodies at he farmers market today: spinach, kale, carrots, radishes, thyme, and green onions.

  9. Tammy says:

    Jealous of your avocado too! Traveling this week so no recipe to link up :( . There will likely be some good food poetry though.

  10. Lauren says:

    Ooh, thanks for this very timely reminder about the artichokes! I can’t wait to make them again.

Leave a Reply

