What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #6

What's in the Box?

Well hello there!  Did you miss me?  Did you think I fell off the face of the earth?  My apologies for leaving you all hanging last week but this moving thing has been kicking my butt!  So grateful to be settling in to our new home but it hasn’t been easy.  The biggest challenge we had to face was looking for a refrigerator.  Who knew it could be so difficult?  And living without one for a week…now, that was rough!  We had to eat out for every meal, which is something we are not used too.  My poor husband has never been happier to eat a home cooked meal.  I guess the saying is true, you don’t know what you got till it’s gone…

I have yet to find a CSA (although I haven’t been looking too hard since we were without a refrigerator).  But now that the kitchen is up and running it is only a matter of time before a produce box will be delivered to my doorstep.  In the meantime, I thought I would reflect on some of my past boxes and share some of the recipes that never made the blog.

But before we get to that, let’s check out some of the link ups from the last party.  I was most excited to drool over see Views From Here’s Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Cranberry Almond Pesto.  How awesome does that sound?  I am also loving all of The 100 Mile Kitchen’s homemade soups right now.  And finally, what’s a WITB link party without a Farm Fresh Feasts pizza?  It’s only been a week and you ladies already have me jonesing for my fruits and veggies again.  Thanks for linking up and sharing your CSA goodies with the rest of the party.

Now it’s time to take a quick jaunt down memory lane and admire some produce stars from the past.

April 24, 2013: What’s in the Box? #71 

What's in the Box? #71

Kale Salad:  Ok, so I have been telling you guys about this salad for a while now and I have yet to post the recipe.  But a few weekends ago I made it again and it was so super duper stellar it is back on my radar.  So consider this an IOU.  I can’t wait to share the recipe with you.  And please, continue to bug me if I forget to post it soon.  It is the perfect summer BBQ dish :)

April 17, 2013: What’s in the Box? #70

What's in the Box? #70

Grapefruit Ricotta Cookies:  Is this post still considered a recipe roundup if 2 out of the 5 recipes aren’t actually recipes at all?  My apologies again for being such a slacker but at least in this case I have a picture.  I just can’t share it with you yet because I need to write the post.  But it is top of the order on my list of things to do (blog related at least) and I am hoping to get it done this weekend.  Trust me, it’s worth the wait!

April 11, 2013: What’s in the Box? #69

img_5403

Pork Tenderloin with Strawberry Chardonnay Sauce:  So what do you do when you have strawberries coming out of your ears?  Well, you can make a Fresh Strawberry Yogurt Cake or you can whip up a delicious and nutritious dinner for your whole family (or in my case, you can do both!).  This amazing recipe came from the new Yummy Mummy Kitchen cookbook that my dear friend Sasha picked up for me.  It is loaded with creative and healthy ways to use your favorite farm fresh produce.  It’s the first thing I turn to for inspiration nowadays.

April 4, 2013:  What’s in the Box? #68

What's in the Box? #68

Chicken with Creamy Spinach and Shallots:  As much as I love to cook, I LOVE when my mom cooks for me.  And lucky for me when she was in town for my brother’s wedding she totally spoiled me with a ton of fresh and delicious home cooked meals.  But this one was by far my favorite.  Served with a side of rice pilaf this dish is affordable, easy to make and oh so scrumptious.  Can’t wait to recreate it again soon.

March 27, 2013: What’s in the Box? #67

What's in the Box? #67

Pumpkin Mac and Cheese:  So I recently broke my own rules and indulged myself in a batch of homemade Pumpkin Mac and Cheese.  And I have absolutely no regrets.  The sage made me do it.  And between the aroma of fresh pumpkin and the intense food coma I was in afterwards, I could have sworn it was Thanksgiving all over again.  Note to self:  Make this for Thanksgiving from this year forward.  It is an amazing addition to a traditional feast.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite CSA recipes?  Feel free to link up some of the CSA inspired meals that you are the most proud of.  Looking forward to drooling over your dishes :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #6

  1. Heather,
    Oh my goodness I don’t think I’ve ever been without a refrigerator while moving! I’ve cooked out of a hotel room but always with at least a little fridge. When the power’s out and the fridge is useless, there’s only the grill for cooking everything you can before it spoils. It must have been really difficult–and a morning cup of milk for Harper?–I’m glad you’re getting the new place set to rights.

    I’m being unorthodox in a couple of my link ups today. First off, I spent the month of April learning how to improve my food photography via an online 30 Days to Better Food Photography challenge. I share 5 lessons I learned. There’s no CSA component to the recipe I threw in the post (it’s all pantry staples for a fast rich dessert) but I’m sharing it because I think if I can learn to take better photos of Swiss chard, maybe more people will be inspired to join CSAs and keep more farmland in sustainable use and more small farmers earning income to send their kids to school. Choir. I’m preaching.

    My second link up is using a fruit that I’ve never gotten in a CSA box, but I did have growing in my back yard in Hawaii–Creamy Dark Chocolate Banana muffins. These muffins are whole grain and delicious. I’ve also got some banana storage tips if, like me, you can’t walk past marked down perfectly ripe bananas at the grocery store.

    Last, of course, a pizza! My CSA farm shares tend to give me way more hot peppers than I can deal with at a time. One year I made hot pepper jelly with the abundance, but usually I just take the excess down to the food bank. Last season I was all about pickling, so I made pickled hot peppers. Then the hot peppers started coming at me from the CSA *and* my spouse’s coworkers! So I made MORE pickled hot peppers. Here’s one use for them–on a pepperoni pizza. I used up all my alliterative skills commenting on Kristy’s Fresh Foods Link Up yesterday, so I will just say that it was tasty and you should try it. Totally.

    Thanks for hosting, Heather, and I look forward to hearing your new adventures in your new home. (Oh, and I’ve got my eye on that pork tenderloin–I love Herbs de Provence and that looks delicious–thank you!)

    • inherchucks says:

      Wow! Can’t wait to check out all your amazing posts :)

      Yes, the week without the fridge was a super bummer. But am grateful to have one now! Cooking up a storm too :)

  2. Thanks for sharing my Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Cranberry Almond Pesto dish. I just made some more last night. Pairing it with mashed sweet potatoes reminds me of Thanksgiving all the time.

    I am loving all the ideas I get from here. Can’t wait to see what you do with your cauliflower because I got more this week.

  3. Fresh Ginger says:

    I think this week’s Link Up should have a follow up … making that pickled pepper pizza on a cauliflower crust. COMBO posts! :) Sounds yummy!

  4. appetiteck says:

    Aren’t CSA shares great! In my neck of the woods, spring is finally here and so is my CSA–you can see the haul here: http://appetiteforbooks.wordpress.com/2013/05/09/welcome-back-normans/
    and a classic spring recipe–asparagus topped with a fried egg

Leave a Reply

