What’s in the Box? #72

What's in the Box?

It’s been 2 weeks since we moved into our new home and we are finally feeling settled.  We spent the weekend hanging pictures, arranging furniture and exploring our new town.  The weather was beautiful so we decided to take a trip down to the local beach.  To put it simply…it was magical.

Beach

And watching my little beach bum playing in the sand, was the icing on the cake…

Harper plays

The weekend was also filled with lots of celebrating.  For mother’s day of course ;)  And not only did I get to sleep in until 10, I woke up to this lovely view…

Breakfast in bed

Gotta love homemade pancakes with a side of crispy bacon :)

And the celebrating continues as I received my first box from my new CSA this week.  Can’t wait to share the goodies with you.

But first, let’s take a look at last week’s party.  There were a total of 6 link ups, each one filled with loads of fresh, organic and local produce.  I am thrilled to welcome Sharlea of Fresh Veggies in the Dessert back to the party.  And was even more excited about her Grilled Artichokes.  Shalama from Views from Here shared a mouthwatering Cauliflower Crust Pizza (something I have been dying to try for a while now).  And Kirsten from Farm Fresh Feasts gave us the low down on how she makes her food look sooooo good!  A big thanks to everyone who participated.  I love reading through all of your posts.

After being without a box last week, I was starting to have some serious withdrawals.  Luckily, I was able to find a new CSA pretty quickly thanks to localharvest.org.  Not only is my new CSA cheaper than my previous one (by more than $10!) but the boxes are overflowing with even more goodies!  I couldn’t be happier.  Check out what I picked up this week…

What's in the Box? #72 - In Her Chucks

Holy nutritious goodness…right?  There was so much produce packed in that box, I had a hard time arranging it for the picture.  I am currently in fruit and veggie heaven :)  And not only did my new CSA provide me with great recipes, they also gave tips on how to properly store the items in this week’s box to maximize their shelf life.  Could it get any better?

So here’s what I plan to do with this abundant haul…

Harper dug into the peas right away.  My girl loves the green.  As soon as she saw them she grabbed a handful and started shelling them (before I could even snap a picture of the box…thank God there were more than enough to be photographed).  I have only gotten English peas once before and I can’t for the life of me remember what I made with them.  But I remember it was good.  So I will have to do some googling to figure it out :)

Once the pictures were taken, I grabbed a lemon and started zesting for this recipe.  And even though the lemon zest is a small component, it makes all the difference in the overall taste.  Delicious.  And on the side I steamed up some of the broccoli.  A household staple.

For breakfast this morning I sliced up some of the strawberries and ate them along with my oatmeal.  Best strawberries ever. No exaggeration.  They were juicy, flavorful and downright scrumptious.

I was excited to see a fresh bunch of spinach this week.  I plan on making this Chicken with Creamy Spinach and Shallots again because it is so simple but so good.

I have all the ingredients I need to make my killer kale salad (kale, lemons, avocados), but now I just need mouths to eat it.  It makes a huge portion and unfortunately Harper and Freddie aren’t kale fans.  I wish I could eat it all by myself but even my belly can’t hold it all.  I have plans to visit friends this weekend and might have to bring a kale salad along with me :)

For the beets, I think I am going to go straight for the roasting.  They are so sweet and earthy, it’s hard to resist.

Of course, the lettuce will make a great salad, topped with some sliced radishes, grated carrots, crumbled cheese and a handful of chopped nuts.  Might even throw in some grilled chicken breast if I am feeling really wild.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #72

  1. naimavanswol says:

    Your new CSA looks great! Hope you’re loving your new place!

  2. Melissa says:

    I bet fresh avacados like that are amazing. So jealous! I’ve still got a few weeks until my CSA starts, but the local farmers market is keeping me stocked with veggies. I linked a spicy stir fry made with local chicken, honey, ramps and asparagus.

  3. Heather,
    There’s something very comforting about the continuing tradition of a box full of local produce that helps you to settle into your new home. When we moved to Ohio so much was new and different, and of course our farmers were also new and different, but the relationship between the folks who choose to grow food for others, and us others who choose to get our food from the farmer, was the same. I’m getting the impression that you felt the same continuity that I did.

    I’m sharing how I use my packs of put up CSA farm share veggies (carrots, zucchini, chard stems, onions, pepper, celery) to stretch ground meat into Very Veggie Sloppy Joes.

    I’ve also tucked shredded carrots and apple slices into a Maple Teriyaki Salmon Sushi with apple and carrot–a tasty starter to stave off the hungry peeps circling around the kitchen before dinner.

    I’m not linking up a pizza this week! Instead, I’ve got a focaccia I made for my spouse before he left–Arugula Pesto Focaccia–and the link manager won’t let me title my incredibly long and detailed post title, so I substituted “Goodies” for the green olives, artichoke hearts, feta and goat cheeses that topped the bread. Yum!

    I’ve got a few more focaccia made/photographed, and really need to get writing–because I have zero posts for the next 2 weeks! Ack! I put off the writing (kept up with the recipe development and photography though since the family, they seem to want to eat) while my folks were visiting and while my spouse was winding down work/preparing to leave, so now I need to get all the words in my head out onto paper and then onto the blog. Waffles, chicken lentil rice thingy, and probably the chicken blueberry hummus pizza using tomorrow’s Better Than Trader Joe dough will probably be here next week. Unless something else jumps in line.

    Thanks for hosting!

  4. saltedplates says:

    Heather your new box looks great. We are still waiting for our summer CSA to start in June but I was able to get some local asparagus and ramps at the co-op so I have linked up a post I made with those. This past weekend we stopped at a roadside stand while traveling to a wedding and bought some strawberries. I ate over half of them in the car on the way home. Jealous you get them in your box!

  5. Fresh Ginger says:

    that little beach bum in the sand is adorable!

  6. […] In her chucks is back with a new CSA box after her move so check out the link ups of other yummies over there […]

  7. Tammy says:

    Congratulations on your new home! Your daughter is darling at the beach and I can’t believe your new box! Lemons and avocados are local? Beautiful berries? Awesome. It sort of shames my desert bag. Oh well. Linking up – thanks for putting it together.

Leave a Reply

