What’s in the Box? #73

What's in the Box?

 

It’s 1am and I can’t sleep.  I pretty much feel like a kid on Christmas Eve.  “Why?” you might ask?  Well, tomorrow morning Harper and I are heading out to our CSA farm for a tour.  A dream come true really.  I can’t wait to see and smell all the glorious food, meet the wonderful people who work there and take a sneak peek at whats to come for the summer growing season.  Looking forward to sharing all the details with you later.

But enough about my insomnia.  Let’s get down to business…

Last week we had 13 link ups.  And two of them included ramps!  Even though week after week I have a variety of delicious and coveted fruits and veggies, I have yet to receive ramps.  But if I ever do, I will be sure to make Lettuce Never Squash Our Love’s Chicken Stir Fry with Ramps and Asparagus or Salted Plates Asparagus and Ramps Pizza.  Another dish I am lusting over is Agrigirl’s Roasted Beet Tart.  Looks absolutely divine!  Thanks to everyone who linked up and shared their goodies this week.  Keep the yummy recipes and pretty produce pics coming :)

Speaking or pretty produce pics…ain’t she a beauty?

What's in the Box? #73- In Her Chucks

I’m seeing green :)  And I love every bit of it.  I have to start with that giant Nappa cabbage.  It literally is the biggest piece of produce I have ever received.  Which means I am going to need a few ideas on how to prepare it.  Looking around on the internet I am thinking about a stir fry, maybe a soup and possibly a salad.  So many delicious options, I can’t go wrong.  And many of those recipes include fresh cilantro so I can go ahead and utilize two veggies with one recipe :)

I am loving these strawberries.  I went away for the weekend so I haven’t been able to finish off my last batch.  So in order to catch up I am going to have to make a few strawberry desserts.  I have that Fresh Strawberry Yogurt Cake on my mind, or possibly some Strawberry Scones.  Or I might go out on a limb and try something new.  Stay tuned to find out.

I am so excited to get another batch of carrots because while I was away this weekend Harper and I had the privilege of having dinner with a wonderful couple that prepared a killer meal.  I was able to find the recipe and have big plans to recreate it this weekend.  I can’t wait to share it with you guys.

Artichokes are nothing new to me, but I have never received such big ones in my box before.  I am usually stuck with the baby ones which are cute but don’t have much to enjoy.  These bad boys will keep our tummies happy for a while.  With Memorial Day around the corner, these will go great on the grill with an array of dipping sauces.  Yum!

I have recently gotten into breakfast sandwiches.  My friend Jenny introduced me to gluten-free bagels and they are simply amazing.  They are light and fluffy and make the perfect foundation for a veggie egg scramble complete with green onions, spinach and topped with cheese and fresh avocado.  Talk about a breakfast of champions.

And finally sugar snap peas.  A family favorite.  Tomorrow I plan on whipping up Pork Chops and Sugar Snap Peas with Mint Julep Glaze with a side of Mashed Red Potatoes.  I can taste it already :)

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #73

  1. Heather,
    That’s wonderful for you all to visit your CSA farm! I remember the first time Emma got to harvest eggs at one of ours–my spouse had been reading the Little House series to her and she was so stoked to gather eggs in the chicken house. I look forward to hearing what Harper notices about where her food comes from.

    Today I’m linking up a breakfast, a (mumble mumble) and a pizza, or at least a pizza dough.

    For breakfast I used some less-than-fluffy waffles as waffle sandwiches, stuffed with peach jam I’d put up, some other jam that didn’t work in sandwiches, and some leftover chopped veg and meat from a pizza. And cheese! Goat with jam and cheddar with the corn and pepper. We liked these sandwiches so much I wrote up a post, and we’ll enjoy them again.

    For lunch I have a dish that is stymying me to label. It’s a casserole, but I liked it over a bed of salad greens. It’s an entree, but my spouse scooped it up with tortilla chips as an app to hold him over while waiting for dinner one night. What it contains is corn, leeks, and salsa verde all put up from my CSA farm share, blended with chicken thighs, lentils, and rice, combined with cheeses and baked. Hard to classify, good to eat.

    Lastly, I was inspired by Tammy’s month of poetry to write a poem to my pizza stone. I figured that I ought to add value to your visit to my blog and give you a recipe for garlic herb dough that I think is better than TJs–using my put up roasted garlic plus more whole grains.

    Thanks for hosting!

  2. Melissa says:

    Heather, I hope you and Harper have an awesome time on your CSA tour! I pick up my CSA box at the farm each week, which is great. I love talking to the people who own and work there about what’s in the box this week, what’s coming up, and how they’re cooking it! I’ve gotten some great tips that way, especially for veggies that I’m not as familiar with. I’m linking a recipe for avocados and cucumbers that I just loved. Now, I don’t get avocados in my CSA, but yours look fantastic!

  3. randipants says:

    Ooooh, I’m only a few weeks away from the start of my summer share and this is making me so ready for some fresh veggies! Can’t wait for the season to start so I can join the link party again!

  4. […] post is linked to What’s in the Box?  at In Her […]

  5. Tiffany T says:

    I love looking at the yummy fresh farm produce. Unfortunately the farm we had a CSA with last year is no longer doing it. I miss it. I’m curious about those gluten free bagels. What brand? I’ve been gf for 7 months and I sure do miss bagels.

  6. […] linking up at In her chucks! Check out the other local CSA yumminess that is going […]

Leave a Reply

