What’s in the Box? #74

What's in the Box?

 

One of the things I loved most about gardening, was that seeing all the time and effort that went into planting, watering and growing my own food, helped me to appreciate my harvest so much more.  It’s no secret that I have a deep affection for my CSA box, but after last week’s visit to my CSA farm, I appreciate it so much more!    

For one, the property was just breathtaking…

 

CSA Farm

Rows and rows of luscious fresh greens, just waiting to be picked and devoured.  

 

CSA Farming

 

I was so grateful to be given a personal tour by the director of the CSA program.  We walked through the entire journey of the veggies from the ground, to the cooler, to the delivery truck.   

CSA

 

And it all happens in one day.  Now that’s fresh!  

Harper and I had such a blast on our tour.  Looking forward to heading out for another visit soon :)

Now let’s take a look at what type of freshness the party goers have been whipping up.  Last week there were 8 link ups.  And my oh my are there some yummy dishes to brag about.  As much as I love my produce, I also love me some bacon.  Thanks to Jess from Hesitantly Healthy, I can enjoy some Easy Baked Brussels Sprouts, Red Potato and Bacon from the comfort of my computer screen…drool!  And Tammy from Agrigirl shared a beautiful and colorful Yellow Squash Gazpacho.  Finally, I am loving the simple and clean flavors of Brian’s Avocado Toast from Lettuce Never Squash our Love.  Thanks to everyone for linking up and sharing their delicious goodies.  You continue to spoil me :)

You know who else keeps spoiling me?  My freakin awesome CSA!  Check out this week’s haul…

What's in the Box? #74- In Her Chucks

Raspberries AND blackberries…SCORE!  And let me tell you…they are perfectly juicy and sweet.  Simply irresistible.  But I am working my self-control like never before because I have some delicious savory dishes planned for these little gems.  Hoping to get the chance to share them with you :)

Next up are the zucchini.  A HUGE favorite of mine.  Mostly because I can’t get enough of these Turkey Burgers with Homemade Zucchini Fries.  And getting another bunch of crunchy carrots worked out well too, since the burgers aren’t complete without them.  I topped the patties with white cheddar cheese and half of an avocado.  Oh, and some of that crispy green lettuce.  Dinner tonight was heaven.

There is no produce more beautiful to me than golden beets.  They are vibrant, bright and when the dirt and residue are washed away, they almost resemble a glistening gem.  My recipe of choice for golden beets is my Roasted Beets with Walnuts and Gorgonzola because they make the dish sparkle, but this week, my husband has requested beet fritters.  So fritters it is.  And with the fritters I will be serving a perfectly grilled rib eye steak and some of those enormous artichokes, which will also be grilled.

And finally, the leeks.  I am torn with the leeks because I have so many delicious recipes to choose from.  So I guess we will have to see where my taste buds take me this week.  

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #74

  1. Heather,
    You know, when I see your photos while I am munching on sweet local strawberries from my own CSA, I am not consumed with jealousy. Interesting. I too got leeks in my first share of the season yesterday–including a leek scape! Apparently I did succeed in re-growing the leek bottoms I just stuck in the ground last fall, because the thing that I thought was somehow a migratory (say it with a British accent like in Monty Python) garlic is probably a leek. Woot! I’m so excited to see my crisper full of bags of greens I hardly know where to start. Well ok, I did start by rolling some unagi + salad mix + spring onion sushi, because my son asked for it for his birthday. I roasted my asparagus, ate a bunch of it standing over the stove picking it off of the roasting pan, but I also rolled some up with leftover roasted chicken in some more sushi rolls. The rest of the asparagus is going on top a pizza. Probably doing the fresh basil in a pizza too. Stay tuned for the kale and chard–I really want to drink them, but we’ll see.

    Right! The link ups! I’ll actually link them when I get back from the junior high assembly this morning, but in the meantime, I’m sharing chocolate chip cookies with sunflowers and coconut for that unagi-loving kid’s birthday, a Little Black Dress of a potato salad, Creme Fraiche Roasted Potato Salad, and a pizza fight: Chicken blueberry hummus vs Pepper and Peppadew.

    Thank you so much for hosting, Heather!

  2. Thanks for the shout out!! :) I’m loving your CSA box…..we’re getting a few of the same things, and I can’t wait to try some of them out. Your homemade zucchini fries are on the top of the list!

  3. saltedplates says:

    Can’t wait to finally get ours started again next week. May without it is hard. I did hit the farmers market last weekend and got a ton of asparagus, strawberries and rhubarb. Glorious spring food!

  4. Melissa says:

    Wow! Your CSA farm looks amazing. I can’t wait until mine starts again! I cooked with leeks last week for the first time ever (crazy, right?). I used them in a vegetable soup that turned out to be fantastic. I don’t have it on my blog yet to link up, but I’m going to try and catch up on my posting soon. THanks, Heather!

  5. I loved seeing all the farm pictures on Instagram. It really is refreshing to see just where your food comes from and how it was grown. A lovely box my dear, but I would expect no less from your CSA. Mine starts again this coming week, which I’m thrilled about because I didn’t think it started until mid-late June.

  6. […] I’m going to drool over the other people who still have boxes over at In Her Chucks. Check it out! And have a yummy […]

  7. […] This post is linked up at In Her Chucks CSA link party. […]

  8. Pamela says:

    Glad to be back following your weekly link parties. Love seeing your CSA farm pics. We’re sure love visiting ours. :)

  9. naimavanswol says:

    Ooooooh yum! Your CSA looks amazing! I love berries, too. They are my ultimate fave. I think it’s awesome that you got to visit your CSA farm. I’m hoping to do something like that this season. My CSA hasn’t started delivering yet, tho. So, I guess I have to wait. :)

  10. Tammy says:

    Artichokes AND avocados??? Amazing.

  11. Gorgeous! I’ve never met a fresh artichoke. Ours generally come in cans or jars. What will you do with it?

  12. […] It’s time once again to participate in the What’s in the Box? link party at In Her Chucks. Go check it out for a ton of great ideas on what to do with your CSA […]

  13. randipants says:

    Woo-hoo, all linked up for the first time this season! I am overrun with greens but I will deal somehow!

Leave a Reply

