What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #7

What's in the Box?

Harper and I have been having way too much fun this week.

Purple Park Fun

We are so happy to be visiting friends, teaching music classes and enjoying hanging out at our favorite parks, that important business like preparing blog posts have fallen by the wayside.

But sometimes it feels good to take a break.  And now, as I revise this post 5 days later I feel rejuvenated, revamped and ready to party.  So let’s jump right in, shall we?

Last week we had 9 link ups and nearly half of them make me feel like I am dining at an Asian fusion restaurant.  Kirsten from Farm Fresh Feasts served up a delicious batch of Chicken Adobo Summer Rolls, Christine from Thoughts from the End of the World shared some veggie packed Korean Pancakes and Casey and Annie are sure to create culinary masterpieces with their big bunches of Bok Choy.  Thanks to everyone who linked up.  Summer produce is in full swing and I can’t get enough of your creative dishes.

As for me, I am without a box this week as we are in the midst of some fun summer travels.  So I have created a recipe roundup of dinners and dishes that never made the blog.  They are sure to make your tummy smile!

June 6, 2013: What’s in the Box? #75

What's in the Box? #75

Spinach Couscous:  This is one of my favorite sides to serve during the summer.  It is easy to make and pairs great with grilled meats.  I always use traditional couscous, but this time switched it up with some Israeli couscous and the result was delicious!  I also stirred the goat cheese into the couscous when it was still warm which made it feel more like a pasta salad…but a really healthy one :)

May 30, 2013: What’s in the Box? #74

What's in the Box? #74- In Her Chucks

Simple Chicken and Vegetable Enchiladas:  I am a big fan of any recipe that is going to be packed full of veggies.  Not only does it make me feel good to sit down to a healthy meal, but it makes me feel like super mom when I feed them to my family.  Like my Turkey Burgers, these enchiladas are a great way to “hide” veggies into your families favorite comfort foods.  It also makes enough for leftovers the next day which means double the goodness and double the fun :)

May 23, 2013: What’s in the Box? #73

What's in the Box? #73- In Her Chucks

Pork and Cabbage Dumplings:  These little pockets of goodness are simply heavenly.  But they are truly a labor of love.  For starters, our market didn’t carry round dumpling wrappers, so instead I made wontons with the small square wrappers we were able to find.  As cute and delicious as they were, they were half the size, so it took forever…3 hours to be exact!  The good news is that it makes enough for a crowd or plenty to stash away in the freezer.  And if you have an extra pair of hands to help (Freddie was an awesome sous chef), it can make for a fun afternoon activity.

May 16, 2013: What’s in the Box? #72

What's in the Box? #72 - In Her Chucks

 

Curtis’ Mac and Cheese:  As much as I enjoy Kraft Mac and Cheese (no really…it’s one of my guiltiest pleasures), this recipe takes an old childhood favorite to a whole new level.  Bacon, shallots, Gruyere cheese…it’s the fanciest cheesy pasta you’ve ever met.  And the best part?  Fresh English peas, nestled in every bite :)

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite CSA recipes?  Feel free to link up some of the CSA inspired meals that you are the most proud of.  Looking forward to drooling over your dishes :)

 

 

 

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #7

  1. Heather,
    I’m glad you’re too busy with life to blog. That’s a Good Thing!

    I’ve got a wide variety to bring to the party today. For breakfast, a soaked-oatmeal, whole grain yet decadent-sounding Double Chocolate Raspberry muffin.
    For lunch (again and again, I can’t get enough!) a Soul-Satisfying Sautéed Beet Greens and Spring Onions–for me, topped with a sunny side up egg. Yes, I got a little wifty with my writing, but this is the right audience to understand my wiftiness.
    For dinner, since I have no idea how I didn’t share it last week but instead shared a Friday post on a Thursday . . . Buttermilk Pizza Dough. Top it how you like.
    Thanks for hosting!

  2. saltedplates says:

    Hi Heather, I’ve added my links to my recent CSA pick up and a pizza I made with a spinach sauce from the last one. Thanks for hosting!

  3. Melissa says:

    Heather, I completely understand being too busy to blog! Next week my weekly CSA box starts again (yippee!!) so I’m trying to get back on a regular blogging schedule. I’m linking some roasted garlic scapes – thanks for keeping the link party going!

  4. […] Kristy’s Fresh Food Wednesdays, Jessie Bear’s Together Tuesday and Heather’s What’s In The Box all for obvious reasons. By the way, these linkup are listed in no particular order, and […]

  5. […] don’t forget to check out the CSA link party over at In Her Chucks. Tons of great ideas every week on what to do with your CSA […]

  6. randipants says:

    All linked up! Nothing too exciting no the CSA front this week, but I did start some chive blossom vinegar and mint-infused rum from my container garden.

  7. I still envy all your delicious boxes. They’re amazing.

  8. […] But Good, Kristy’s Fresh Food Wednesdays, Jessie Bear’s Together Tuesday and Heather’s What’s In The Box all for obvious reasons. Remember to head over to their sites and see what everybody else got […]

Leave a Reply

