What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #9

What's in the Box?

It has been a week since Harper and I stepped foot on Irish soil and life here is truly “grand” (as they say).  I could go on and on about everything we have seen and experienced, but for now, I will let Instagram do all the talking…

First stop?  A proper pub on the mountaintop complete with Irish dancing and finished off with an Irish coffee :)

Pub Antics

How do you recover from a crazy night out the with locals?  Well, an Irish Breakfast of course…

Irish Breakfast

After filling my tummy with goodness it was time to brush up on my Irish history and explore some ancient ruins…

Irish History

Harper was so inspired by digging down deep into her Irish roots, she decided to pick up the tin whistle…

Harper and her whistle

We have also visited the local zoo, done some cooking and of course lots of relaxing.  Life in the motherland (as my mom calls it) is gorgeous :)

And you know what else is gorgeous?  Last week’s links…all 12 of them.  What I love most about each week’s link ups is how much I learn from you guys.  And this week is no different.  Agrigirl taught us that corn silk has many health benefits…who knew?  And The Novice Gardener introduced me to Lemon Balm in addition to giving me loads of ways to use it.  Now I want to grow it all over my garden.  And finally, Have Dessert First is back at the party with a killer recipe for Grilled Shrimp and Polenta.  Thanks to everyone who linked up and shared their delicious dishes.  I appreciate your support and loyalty :)

As for me, there is no box this week.  So I thought I would share some of my favorite CSA BBQ recipes with you all.  With the 4th of July right around the corner, I couldn’t help but ensure that we all have at least one inspired CSA dish at our cookouts.

So without further ado, CSA produce does BBQ…

While you wait for the grill to heat up and prepare to cook your meat, why not grab for a healthy and delicious dip that utilizes only the freshest of ingredients…Seven Layer Bean Dip with Fresh Tortilla Chips

Seven-Layer Bean Dip with Fresh Tortillas Chips - In Her Chucks

As much as I am a meat girl, no BBQ is complete without a bunch of side dishes.  This is the best way to load up on CSA fruits and veggies.  Some of my favorites are Roasted Beets with Gorgonzola and Walnuts

Roasted Beets with Gorgonzola and Walnuts

and Summer Pasta Salad

Summer Pasta Salad - In Her Chucks

For the mains, why not try something different this year and throw some lamb on the grill…Cumin, Honey, and Mint-Marinated Lamb Chops

Cumin, Honey, and Mint-Marinated Lamb Chops

And finally, we all know that no meal is complete without dessert…Pluot Crumble

Pluot Crumble - In Her Chucks

Your turn: What are your favorite ways to incorporate your CSA fruits and veggies into your BBQ and cookouts?  Looking forward to drooling over your dishes.  

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #9

  1. Heather,
    Ok, so this is making more sense to me. When I first found your blog your mom was visiting, I think from Ireland, so I thought you were an Irish lass who went to America and fell in love. Later you talked about childhood on the States and I really had no clue (I swear I’m not a stalker, I just formed an impression with the comments about mom from Ireland).
    Whatever your connection to the Emerald Isle, I’m delighted to see you’re having a grand time.

    Eat a scone with clotted cream and jam for me.

    I love the BBQ sides–my box this week is transitioning from spring to summer (mustard greens and zucchini) and we’ve successfully grilled once without the spouse, so the grill is coming out to work on some of these goodies.

    Meantime, here’s what I’ve got: a berry crust pizza topped with chicken, cranberry, red onion and fresh mozzarella. My contribution to the “red, white, and blue jello” 4th of July picnic fare.
    I’ve also got a pair of recipes that build on each other–Slow Cooker Greek Chicken Tacos and Five Layer Mediterranean Dip. The first recipe keeps my kitchen cool and makes a delicious flavorful meat good on salads, tacos, or over rice. The second recipe takes the leftovers from the first (or use marinated chick peas for a vegetarian Five Layer Dip) and makes an amazing appetizer.

    Any suggestions for young, tender mustard greens? I’m all ears. I’ve got a big bag, and 3 eaters, two of which aren’t really fond of greens in general.

    Thanks for hosting!

  2. novagirl says:

    Thanks for the welcome back! I’ve been missing participating in “What’s in the Box” but happy to be back now that my CSA has started up again. :)

  3. Tammy says:

    Your barbecue sides are beautiful. I’ve become more about the sides over the years.

  4. saltedplates says:

    Glad to hear you are enjoying your trip! My boyfriend has been hinting he wants lamb for the 4th so I am definitely going to bookmark your recipe. And those beets look fantastic!

  5. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Glad you’re enjoying the old sod as Grandpa O’Neill used to call it. Miss you. Love, GG

  6. […] post is linked up with Gastronomical Sovereignty and In Her Chucks. Head on over to their sites to see other people’s veggies, without the old school hip hop. […]

  7. I thought it’s appropriate to link up my scalloped potatoes since we’re talking about Ireland. I hope you’re having a great time, I’d love to visit Ireland someday. Btw, your daughter is adorable!

Leave a Reply

