What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #11

What's in the Box? After 3 weeks of traveling, Harper and I have made it to our last stop of our “tour de familia”.  Our journey started in Ireland, then took us to Georgia, and now we have the pleasure of hanging in Missouri with my aunt, uncle and cousins before we head back to California.  Harper has been the absolute best traveler and an awesome helper!  Her favorite part of packing up and moving to a new location is definitely the perks of a luggage cart ride or two :)

IMG_8284

So for a few more weeks I will be without a box.  But I am having a blast sharing some of my favorite recipes from the past (and hoping to post some new ones soon too).

This week, my recipe roundup was inspired by YOU!  With all the delicious recipes that were shared last week, there were 3 that immediately jumped out at me and they were all breakfast favorites of mine.  So for this week’s recipe roundup, I will be sharing how I like to incorporate my CSA into the most important meal of the day.  But before I do, let’s drool over Kirsten’s Sweet Corn and Blueberry Waffles, Have Dessert First’s Red, White and Blue Crepes, and The Novice Gardner’s collection of fresh egg recipes.  *Drool*  Ok, now wipe your chins and get ready for some more breakfast recipes that are sure to knock your socks off…

Strawberry Scones

Strawberry Scones - In Her Chucks

Being on the Emerald Isle for a few weeks, I learned how much the Irish love their tea and scones.  And no disrespect to “the motherland” (as my mother calls it) but these homemade scones blow any authentic Irish scone out of the water.  They are moist, sweet and incredibly flavorful.  And SO easy to make!

Leek and Goat Cheese Quiche

Leek and Goat Cheese Quiche - In Her Chucks

If you are more of a savory person during the morning hours, then this quiche is sure to be your new favorite breakfast of champions.  I love the idea of cooking it up over the weekend and enjoying it throughout the week.  Pair it with a salad and you now have yourself lunch or dinner too :)

Apple Pie Muffins

apple muffins

I have always preferred to eat a big breakfast in the morning.  My mom, not so much.  Give her a scone or a muffin and a cup of coffee and she is a happy camper.  In fact, I would go so far as to refer to her as the “Muffin Queen”.  Growing up she used to buy muffins by the dozen from our favorite local bakery and freeze them so that they would last her a while.  And although these muffins might not be as healthy as the ones she used to enjoy, they are definitely tastier.

Your turn: What are your favorite ways to incorporate your CSA fruits and veggies into fun and filling breakfast ideas?  Looking forward to drooling over your dishes.  

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #11

  1. Heather,
    You take such pretty photos of breakfast foods–really nice job setting the mood of a sunny breakfast.
    I’m with your mom, not much in the morning for me, but I frequently eat “breakfast” around noon so I’m ready for a heartier breakfast by then.
    I’m linking up beets, zucchini, peppers and pesto today. Open-faced shaved beet sandwiches first–these raw marinated beets are delicious as a salad but throw them on a piece of good bread with cheese? Yum! I could eat that for breakfast, you know.
    I’ve got a Triple Chip Zucchini Spice Cake–showing how I put it up now and use it in the winter–along with a little public library love.
    For your weekly pizza, I made a pesto dough and topped it with more pesto, pickled peppers, sautéed mushrooms, and smoked mozzarella. I’m no food writer, but it tasted delicious.

    Thanks for hosting!

  2. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Looking forward to your return home & getting to hear all about your travels. Miss you. Love, GG

  3. Beth says:

    Oooh, breakfast! We’re having breakfast with friends (potluck style) TWICE this weekend. I’m pumped! And those muffins look like something I can definitely get on board with!

  4. […] sharing this post with the friendly, produce-loving people at the What’s in the Box? party at In Her Chucks. Check it […]

  5. Dale says:

    Hi there — glad to see you’re supporting the CSA link up again this year. I missed adding in at the end of last year, but I’m off to a roaring start this year with two weeks under my own belt. I thought I’d share my “Grilled Halibut with Garlic Scape-Walnut Pesto” recipe as part of the link up … the garlic scape and walnut pesto recipe is posted as well.

    Great to see the CSA movement gaining so much strength.

    Thank you for sharing.

    Dale

Leave a Reply

