What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #14

What's in the Box?

This summer has been all about traveling.  Whether we were moving, or jet-setting across the Atlantic, it seems like we are always on the go.  And we still have a few more weeks to go until we are home.  But Harper and I are having a blast and enjoying each and every minute of it (minus missing Daddy…that part really sucks).

After coming home from Branson last week, we decided to hop up to Santa Barbara to visit some of our close friends.  Santa Barbara is a special place for us.  It is where we lived for the last 3 years before Freddie took his new job up north.  It is where we found out we were pregnant and where Harper was born.  And most importantly, it is where we have created lifelong friendships with some very special folks.  We are so grateful for the memories that we have in this beautiful town, and it feels good to be “home”, even for just a little while.

Here is a glimpse at what we have been up to in our favorite coastal city…

Greek Festival

For such a small town, Santa Barbara is famous for their summer festivals. This past weekend, we enjoyed the food, the fun and the music of the Greek Festival.

Cute Little Firefighters

The streets are officially safe with these two adorable firefighters on duty

Beach Fun

You can’t be staying a few blocks from the beach without taking a dip. Although Harper was clearly way more excited about the cold water than I was…

We are blessed to be able to visit such wonderful people in such a beautiful place.

But this post isn’t a paid advertisement for Santa Barbara (although it should be…), it’s about the goodness of veggies.  And although I still don’t have a box (but I got one coming next week), there’s more than enough produce at the party to go around.

Last week we had a total of 11 link ups.  And not only were there Fried Green Tomatoes and Buffalo Chicken Pizza, but there was homemade pie, and a collection of blueberry treats!  Man, are we spoiled :)  Thanks for sharing and linking up!  You continue to amaze me with your delicious and nutritious dishes.

As for me, I have been eating my weight in homegrown tomatoes, which is ironic considering I used to not be the biggest fan.  But after almost 3 years of CSA membership, and tons of great recipes linked to the party, I have collected enough scrumptious ideas to change my mind (although I still won’t snack on them for fun…have to draw the line somewhere…).

So in honor of my graduation to an “almost tomato lover”, here are my favorite recipes that utilize the abundance of CSA tomatoes this season…

Chicken with Tomato Herb Pan Sauce

Chicken with Tomato Herb Pan Sauce - In Her Chucks

Cherry Tomato Pesto

Cherry Tomato Pesto - In Her Chucks

Homemade Tomato Sauce

Homemade Tomato Sauce - In Her Chucks

Your turn: What are some of your favorite ways to incorporate your CSA tomatoes into simple and delicious meals?  Looking forward to drooling over your ideas.  

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup #14

  1. naimavanswol says:

    Tomatoes are my favorite! But, they didn’t used to be. Now, I have a whole garden of them growing and excitedly anticipate tomato season. Welcome to tomato land, it’s the best place to be in the summer!

  2. saltedplates says:

    I used to feel very similar about tomatoes but now grow a bunch of my own, tastes change when fresh local veggies are available. I’ve linked up a simple tabbouleh salad and my current csa share, looking forward to cooking more true summer veggies this week.

  3. Fresh Ginger says:

    NEWSFLASH! After my summer of adventure, I will be going back to my real CSA this week and posting a link FOR SURE. I has so missed playing What’s in the Box!! :)

  4. Heather,
    Ah, your cherry tomato pesto . . . damn, that stuff is just amazing!
    In fact, I think I’ll make a pizza tonight (a day early?) and make Sun Gold Tomato Pesto with it. We got a massive quart of Sun Golds yesterday, and I need to put them up. It’s Put Up CSA Veggies Day around here-4 quarts of dill pickles are chilling before going into the fridge, and I need to chop and freeze peppers and clean out the fridge.

    Today I’m sharing a pretty picture and delicious dinner–Baked Swai. I used the last of last season’s put up pesto, combined with bonus ricotta from my first cheese-making adventure, to coat the fish. Delicious! I used the same topping for pasta and also for roasted summer squash. Three in one!

    I’ve also shared a recipe for Fresh Peaches and Cream muffins–my girl loves her peaches.

    Lastly, one of the easiest pizzas I’ve done this summer–leftover grilled veggies atop a par-baked ciabatta crust. I think it took longer to preheat the oven than anything else.

    Thanks for hosting, and I can’t wait to hear about your first box in forever next week!

    • inherchucks says:

      I LOVE Sun Golds! I have a great tomato sauce I made with them once…if I can find the recipe :) (before the blogging days…)

      So excited for the peaches and cream muffins I can hardly stand it!

  5. Heya Heather, thanks for hosting, as always. I lost a tomato plant recently, and had all these green tomatoes staring at me. So I used them in my oven baked vegetables. And guess what? They were good! So, if you don’t like tomatoes, maybe you can pick them green and fry or oven fry them. You’d be surprised how much they taste like eggplant or zucchini.

  6. sojournable says:

    I made fried green tomatoes for the first time this evening. It was a much simpler recipe, but the tomatoes were great. I will definitely make them again. We are swamped with cabbage, cabbage, cabbage right now. I’m eating broccoli and cabbage slaw every day, lol. I plan to make some cabbage soup this weekend, too. Next abundance will be zucchini I think. I have 3 that I really have no idea what to do with other than grill. (I can’t eat bread, so no zucchini bread.)

  7. I thought I’d link up my peach tarts, too. Since it’s peach season, and you might be getting peaches in your box!

  8. […] This post is linked up at In Her Chucks weekly CSA link party. […]

  9. Pamela says:

    I too taught myself to love tomatoes. I love the pop of a warm grilled or roasted cherry or grape tomato. Such an awesome sweet flavor. Great recipes here, thanks for sharing. I’m linked up with this week’s CSA box.

  10. […] the meantime, I’m going to catch up with the goodness that’s happening over at In Her Chucks’ “What’s in the Box?” link party. It’s been a few weeks since I’ve been over there, and I’m sure that […]

  11. Beth says:

    I am still looking for a go-to tomato sauce! I will have to give this one a try! (And that pesto… adding that to the list too.)

Leave a Reply

