What’s in the Box? #76

What's in the Box?

After 2 months without a box…we are back in business!  As much as I have enjoyed our summer travels, I have missed the routine and excitement of a local, organic and totally scrumptious box of fruits and veggies.  Even though Harper and I are still in Santa Barbara house sitting, I went ahead and subscribed to a box for the next few weeks.  I couldn’t come back to our old stomping grounds and not indulge in the goodness that is Plow to Porch.

I was a member of Plow to Porch for nearly 3 years.  It was my first CSA experience and the inspiration for this weekly post.  I am so grateful for the quality or service they provided me and I miss their bountiful hauls.

But before I reveal what I got in my box this week, I must brag about last week’s party.  First of all, we had a total of 16 link ups!  The most we have had in a while :)  And it looks like the trend is all about peaches.  Pam from Simplify and Satisfy got 4 juicy and delicious peaches in her haul (which in my house would be gobbled up within minutes).  Kirsten from Farm Fresh Feasts is busy harvesting her own peaches from her backyard (lucky duck) and is busy making Peaches and Cream Muffins (to die for!).  Finally, The Novice Gardener is extra fancy this week with Peach Rosette Frangipane Tartlets (almost too pretty to eat).  Thanks to everyone for linking up and sharing your goodies.  I love looking through your recipes each week and learning how to prepare my favorite fruits and veggies in new and creative ways :)

Now, for the moment I have been waiting for…

What's in the Box? #76

My very own bambino box :)  Since Harper are in Santa Barbara alone while Daddy is busy working, I opted for a smaller box.  It’s a lot less produce then I am used to, but with one less mouth to feed, I wanted to make sure nothing went to waste.

I was most excited for the peach.  Yes, only one peach, but it’s large and is looking mighty delicious right about now.  It still has to ripen up a bit, but as soon as it does, I will be devouring it all on it own.

I am also happy to see a lemon.  I have been hooked on lemon water lately.  With the warm weather, I find a glass of iced lemon water to be so refreshing.

The head of lettuce made a killer salad tonight to go alongside a big pot of Spaghetti Bolognese.  I added some chopped tomatoes, and cucumbers along with some carrots and celery and tossed it all with a blend of half ranch, half italian dressing.  So delicious!

I enjoyed a few of the tangerines as I made dinner tonight.  It was the perfect little nosh :)

Apples dipped in almond butter are a favorite snack around here.  Harper and I have plans to go to the zoo tomorrow afternoon and they will be great to eat on the go.

Onions are always handy to have around because pretty much every dish I cook starts out with sautéed onions.  They add so much flavor to a meal, especially red onions.

I am not sure about the specifics of the peppers, but my CSA’s website suggested roasting them and then melting some Manchego cheese on top.  I’m sold!  Sounds absolutely delicious.

And finally, the corn.  Being that this is my first batch of fresh corn of the season, I have a million recipes I am drying to try (including this one).  But I think I might just have to boil it, slap some butter on it and call it a day :)

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipe, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to reading your responses :) 

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!

PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by linking back to this post and grabbing the official “What’s in the Box?” button at the bottom of my blog.  Thanks!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #76

  1. My larger CSA tomatoes have so far been made into salsa for canning – it really saves us money in the long run, as we go through salsa very quickly over here. I’ve got 4 more beauties this week and I will probably do the same thing with them (for now I’m still using the Mrs. Wages salsa mix. it’s just so easy!). I devoured the cherry tomatoes we received, with some basil, mozzarella, and basalmic vinegar (with a touch of olive oil).

    Those peppers look great! I like the suggestion of the manchego cheese!

  2. Heather,
    You want tomato ideas? Last week I got four (4!) quarts of tomatoes in our farm share. And the kids haven’t yet joined me in liking raw tomatoes, so I had to get busy, as I can only enjoy so much as salads, sandwiches, and the like.

    I riffed on your Cherry Tomato Pesto recipe again–I used Sun Gold tomatoes, less oil, and sunflower seeds to make a nut-free sauce. Very tasty–your basic recipe is so amazing each variation I try works so well. I’m posting a pizza I made with the Sun Gold sauce, too.

    I’ve also used tomatoes in my Fattoush Dip with Kale Hummus–I made Kale and Sumac hummus and used it in my Dip Dinner, but really any hummus works fine.

    (Apparently double recipes in a single post are a theme lately, as tomorrow I’ll be posting baked eggplant chips that I then turned around and threw on a pizza–there are a lot of leftover cooked veggies around here this summer, so it’s the Summer of Transmogrification.)

    Speaking of transmogrification (let’s just note that I haven’t had my morning tea and I’m trying to quietly post so as not to wake the sleeping kid, dog, or anyone else in the hotel, so bear with me) my final link is an enchilada dish where I transmogrified tomatillos from the farm share, and roasted Hatch chilies from the grocery store down the street, to make and can salsa verde last summer. I also put up shredded zucchini and blanched corn, and in the wintertime I combined all these elements into Green Pork, Corn, and Zucchini Enchiladas.

    How lovely it must be to live in California and enjoy local fruit year round.

    Thanks for hosting!

  3. Alexis says:

    I love eating those peppers with the mexican cheese “Queso Fresco”. I just cut them in half, put the cheese in the middle then pop them in the oven until the chilies are roasted and the cheese is melted YUM!!

  4. saltedplates says:

    Gosh Peaches and Corn? You are lucky with that box! I am glad you are finally back with a box, I am sure you glad to be cooking for again from produce. I love cooking corn in my oven and lathering in butter as well. I linked up a peach caprese that you might like with some of your tomatoes, the flavor of summer in my opinion. I also linked a tomato sauce that can be made with canned or fresh tomatoes. I made it with my last can I put up from last summer in an effort to make some room for more preserves this year. Thanks for hosting!

  5. We didn’t do a farm share this year and I certainly regret it! I loved getting these boxes of culinary goodies every week last summer. This box looks fabulous, and very colorful! Jealous.

  6. annierie says:

    We are drowning with rain, and also with tomatoes. This week, the full load to make sauce. Tomatoes, onions, garlic, carrots, basil.

  7. […] a yummy week. And check out the rest of the lovely summer boxes over at In Her Chucks link […]

Leave a Reply

