Raspberry Chicken with Homemade Rice Pilaf

Raspberry Chicken with Homemade Rice Pilaf - In Her Chucks

Fresh fruit.  It’s one of my weaknesses.  I can’t won’t go a day without it.  In fact, I love it so much, I do my best to incorporate it into every meal of the day.  Breakfast…Homemade crepes topped with fresh berries.  For a snack…Apples slices with cheese.   Lunch…Strawberry Salad with Grilled Chicken.   A meal isn’t complete without a piece of fruit in the mix.

But when it comes to dinner, some people might find incorporating a piece of seasonal fruit into their meal prep a bit of a challenge.  Sure, you can enjoy a piece of fruit as a healthy dessert but I’m talking about throwing sweet and delicious fruits right into your savory dishes.  I tend to have a habit of it (Braised Pork with Fuyu Persimmons, Sole with Grapefruit-Thyme Butter, Citrus Crusted Tilapia with Blood Orange Salsa, and the list goes on and on) but this is the dish that started it all.

My mom has been making Raspberry Chicken for us as long as I can remember.  It’s one of my most requested dishes when I go to visit.  Not only is it absolutely delicious but it is the perfect way to celebrate the beauty of one of my favorite summer fruits…raspberries!

And because this meal wouldn’t be complete without a side of homemade rice pilaf, I have included that recipe for you too :)

Raspberry Chicken

Ingredients

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, flattened

2 tbsp butter

1/4 cup onion, chopped

4 tbsp raspberry vinegar

1/4 cup chicken stock

1/4 cup heavy cream

1 tbsp canned crushed tomatoes

1 cup fresh raspberries, plus more for garnish

Salt and pepper to taste

Flat leaf parsley, chopped

Preparation

1.  Melt butter in the skillet.  Season chicken breasts with a bit of salt and pepper and cook for about 3 minutes per side or until lightly browned.  Remove from skillet and keep warm.

2.  Add the onions to the skillet and cook covered over low heat until tender (about 15 minutes)

3.  Add the vinegar to the skillet with the onions and raise the heat cooking uncovered (stirring occasionally) until vinegar is reduced to a syrupy spoonful.

4.  Whisk in the chicken stock, cream and crushed tomatoes and simmer for 1 minute.  Return the chicken breasts to the skillet and gently simmer in the sauce basting often.  Cook until the chicken is done and sauce is reduced and thickened (about 5 minutes).

5.  Remove the chicken with a slotted spoon and keep warm.   Add the raspberries to the sauce and cook over low heat for 1 minute.  Do not stir the berries with the spoon, just swirl them in the sauce.

6.  Serve the chicken on a plate with the sauce along with the rice pilaf (recipe below).  Garnish with flat leaf parsley.

Recipe slightly adapted from the Silver Palate Cookbook

Rice Pilaf

Ingredients

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 tbsp butter

1 medium yellow onion, minced

2 cloves of garlic, finely minced

2 cups of chicken broth

3/4 cup basmati rice

1/4 cup spaghetti sticks, broken into 1-1 1/2 in pieces

Salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

2 tbsp flat leaf parsley, chopped

Preparation

Heat oil and butter together in a large skillet.  Add onions and cook 2-3 minutes.  Add garlic and cook for one minute, stirring frequently.  Season with salt and pepper.  Add rice and spaghetti, stirring to combine with garlic and onions.  Cook for 2-3 minutes until rice and pasta begin to lightly brown.  Stir in chicken broth and bring to a boil.  Once the liquid is boiling, turn heat down to simmer and cover, cooking for 15-20 minutes or until liquid is absorbed.  Add a pinch of salt and pepper if needed.  Fluff the cooked rice mixture and add chopped parsley.

What I love most about this meal is how simple and easy it is to make.  However, the complex flavors and beautiful presentation are sure to impress both your family or favorite dinner guests.

So hurry out to your local farmer’s market and pick up a pint (or two) of raspberries and get cooking.  Your taste buds will be sure to thank you :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Raspberry Chicken with Homemade Rice Pilaf

  1. What a celebration on a plate!!!!

  2. Heather,
    Wow-both recipes really appeal to me, and other than the chicken, I’ve got just about everything to make this. Your dishes look so wonderful–and I was wonderful what the pilaf was (looked like Extremely Long Grain rice, glad to know the long pieces are spaghetti).
    Thanks!

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Kirsten :)

      I always wondered what those long pieces in my moms pilaf were too…and what I love most about it is that you can make it your own. I have been experimenting with staying away from gluten lately, so when I made my pilaf I used gluten free brown rice noodles and it turned out great!

      I hope you enjoy these recipes as much as I do :)

  3. Christa says:

    Wow, Heather! That looks and sounds amaaaazing. I have never thought about raspberries with chicken. I’ve made pineapple with chicken a few times and found it to be absolutely delicious. I may just have to try this out! By-the-way, I wanted to let you know I changed my blog from FoodToTheMax to http://chasingteal.com/ — I hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

